14 Days of Learning to Love Your Life – Day 1

14 Days of Learning to Love Your LifeDo you often find yourself wishing for more?  Maybe it is a bigger house, or a nicer car, or a more fashionable wardrobe.  Maybe you wish for more free time or to be more beautiful or for more friends.  Today’s society focuses so closely on appearances, image, material things.  It is easy to allow this focus to shade your view of your own life, making you feel as if your life is inadequate or unfulfilling.  But if you can begin to pull your own focus away from these superficial things and begin to be true to your inner self, you can begin to find happiness and contentment where you are today.  This 14 day series is designed to help you learn to love YOUR life.

Let’s begin with how this series works.

This series is NOT a fast-track to happiness.  My intent is not for you to suddenly feel completely and unquestionably fulfilled in 2-weeks time.  For some, that is entirely possible.  For many, true fulfillment and contentment takes much longer.

Instead, this series is designed to be a guide to helping you find your own contentment.

Let’s be clear, this is a journey for me as much as it is for you.  Have you read my Word of the Year post?  This is something that I am working to focus on and learn from too.  I am not perfect and I am not an expert.

You will complete this series with a couple of tools to use to help you in your own contentment journey.  I hope that you can refer back to these, continue to develop them, and find hope and positive energy by using them.

What will you need?

I won’t require that you bring anything along when you join me each day for the next 14 days.  However, I will recommend two things: a journal and a Pinterest account.

A Pinterest account, you ask?  Isn’t that one of those distractions from real life that pulls us toward superficial means of happiness that lead to further discontentment?  Well, sure, it can be.  But Pinterest can be used however YOU want to use it.  So let’s learn how to use the power of Pinterest to help us along our contentment journey.

The journal will be something that you can continue to use after this 14 day series concludes.  Your journal does not have to be anything fancy.  A fifty cent spiral notebook will do just fine.  I like to use smaller notebooks that I can carry with me more easily, but if you prefer or already have a full-size notebook, by all means use that.

Ok, so let’s begin.  The only thing I am going to ask you to do today is to set aside some time to think deeply about every aspect of your life and make a list of every single thing you have to be grateful for.  That’s it.  Don’t worry about the number.  Just write what comes from your heart.  Do not include phrases like “but”, “if only”, or “except for”.  For example, “I am grateful for my family.” is fantastic, but “I am grateful for my family, except for my annoying cousins” is not allowed.  Only positivity is permitting in this list.

Welcome each day with a grateful heart.

I hope you’ll join me again tomorrow.

16 thoughts on “14 Days of Learning to Love Your Life – Day 1

  1. This is a great idea!! I’ve been keeping a gratitude list daily since the beginning of November, and it’s doing wonders for me. I love taking time each day to think of one thing I am thankful for (I also write 3 things that made me happy that day). Maybe I should go back and read some of them – I’ve mostly just been writing it down for the mental exercise of thinking of them!

    1. I love your idea to write down three things that made you happy!!! You should definitely go back and read some! Maybe start each day with reading something from a previous day. That might be a great way to begin the day with a smile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

