31 Days to a Clutter Free Life: Day 18

31 Days to a Clutter Free LifeDay 18 – Kids’ Closets – of the LWSL 31 Days to a Clutter Free Life was the hardest one yet (which totally makes up for the ones I said were super easy, like this one, this one, and this one).  I do keep the kids’ clothes closets pretty well organized, but there is this one closet in Little Miss K’s room that got out of control.

Let me explain.  You see, I had this “system”.  Little Miss S is 2 years older than K, so we have lots of little girl clothes stored away to be used again when K grows into them.  I had it all sorted and stored by size – newborn, 0-3 month, 3-6 month… You get the idea.  When K changed sizes, I would take the current clothes out of her clothes closet and put them back up for storage and put the next size in her closet.  It worked fine for the first 9ish months.  Then K started wearing multiple sizes – some 6 month and some 9 month, and we ended up with 2 wardrobes out.  Those got all mixed up and as she outgrew things and I took things out of her clothes closet, I would put them on a shelf in her other closet (the one with shelves below).  The same thing continued on when K got up to 9 month and 12 month sizes.  I planned  to sort them all out and put them back up for storage but it got out of control.  Then S started growing out of clothes in her closet and I had run out of storage bags (I use these) so her clothes also began getting put on the shelves.  Well…  I’ll let the photo speak for itself.  It was BAD.  But thanks to this challenge, I found the motivation to just get it done.  And I am so glad I did!

Before
Before

The clothing-of-multiple-sizes fiasco started a snowball effect. That closet was originally where I stored all the random baby gear – boppy pillow, pack-and-play, breast pump and bottles, infant carseat pads, baby toys, etc.  It all just sort of started getting shoved in where ever there was a free spot.

I worked on it for a couple of evenings though, and got it all back in order.

After
After

Whew!  Much, much better.  I ended up with a couple of garbage bags of clothing and other gear to donate.

And now for the clothes closets.

Before
Before
After
After
Before
Before
After
After

These were much easier!  The takeaway?  Save yourself a huge headache and keep the closets organized in the first place.

Are you participating in the 31 Days to a Clutter Free Life too?  Which day was the hardest for you?

Looking for closet organization ideas?  Follow my Pinterest Board: Closet Organization:

One thought on “31 Days to a Clutter Free Life: Day 18

Leave a Reply

