31 Days to a Clutter Free Life: Day 8

31 Days to a Clutter Free LifeIt is Day 8 of the Living Well Spending Less 31 Days to a Clutter Free Life and today’s focus is the infamous junk drawer. A few months ago I moved our junk drawer from one cabinet to another, which was a great time to really purge and organize. I didn’t take a before photo since I had no intention of sharing that, but I will show you how it is now organized.

Junk Drawer

Junk Drawer

I got these little trays at Dollar Tree for $1 each. They are the perfect height for my top kitchen drawers and they are nice and sturdy. I love that they are individual trays too so I can reconfigure them to fit my drawers. If you have a Dollar Tree near you, I highly recommend checking them out for baskets, bins, buckets, trays, and the like. Everything in the store is a dollar and they really do have some cute stuff.

Junk drawer organization is all about compartmentalizing. A divided tray or several smaller trays will do wonders for keep the drawer much neater. Having an organized drawer will also help you be a bit more discerning about what you put in there. When you have everything just tossed in the drawer with no rhyme or reason it is too easy to just throw in one more thing without really thinking about it because it is already a mess and that one more thing doesn’t make it any messier. But when the drawer is organized with compartments, you have to decide which compartment that “one more thing” will go in and you may even decide that it doesn’t actually belong in that drawer.

Looking for some storage and organization inspiration?  Follow my Smart Storage and Organization board on Pinterest.

One thought on “31 Days to a Clutter Free Life: Day 8

Leave a Reply

