31 Days to a Clutter Free Life: Day 7

31 Days to a Clutter Free LifeDo you ever feel like you home is being overtaken by toys??  Today in the LWSL 31 Days to a Clutter Free Life we are focusing cutting down toy clutter.

When I first saw what today’s focus was I thought it would be easy because I felt like I had a pretty good system for organizing toys.  We have these big built in cabinets in our family room where all of the toys live.  Sure, they are a bit dated.  But they are wonderful for toy storage!

I thought that because we have lots of bins and buckets and baskets for storing toys in that we were pretty organized.  Then I got to looking and I decided we have WAY TOO MANY toys!  I started pulling things out while the girls were playing and sorting through what to keep and what to get rid of.  They didn’t notice a thing.

All of the toys stay in the family room at our house.  The only exceptions are stuffed animals that the girls want to keep in their rooms and a few little toys here and there.  The main reason is that we live in a two story house and I don’t feel comfortable allowing them to play in their bedrooms alone.  They are only ages 1 and 3 now though.  I know that will change as they get older.

Here are some before and after photos.

Before
Before
After
After
Before
Before
After
After
Toys - Before
Before
After
After
This area was already pretty well picked up.
This area was already pretty well picked up.
Balls
Balls
Stuffed Animals and Blocks
Stuffed Animals and Blocks
I made these containers using old baby wipe boxes.  I just used packing tape to put the "labels" on them.
I made these containers using old baby wipe boxes. I just used packing tape to put the “labels” on them.
Cars
Cars
Dress-up Cabinet - This one was also pretty well organized and picked up when I started today.
Dress-up Cabinet – This one was also pretty well organized and picked up when I started today.
These are the cabinets.  I want to get cubes for the remaining two shelves as well.
These are the cabinets. I want to get cubes for the remaining two shelves as well.
I sorted through the bin for small stuffties and made the girls pick some to take to their bedrooms.
I sorted through the bin for small stuffties and made the girls pick some to take to their bedrooms.
This is Little Miss S's stuffed animal hammock.
This is Little Miss S’s stuffed animal hammock.
Little Miss K's stuffed animals live on her dresser.
Little Miss K’s stuffed animals live on her dresser.
This is about half of what I decided to get rid of.
This is about half of what I decided to get rid of.

My biggest challenge with purging toys is that we are not done having babies yet so I just can’t bring myself to get rid of baby toys that I know we will want/need again in the future.  I’m talking about the ring stackers, shape sorters, play mat, and toys of that nature.  I did go through and identify toys that neither of my girls played with a ton as babies and put those in the donate pile.  I’ve got several that I’m still not convinced I should get rid of, however.  So those are getting stored for now.

What would you do – get rid of those baby toys or hang on to them until we are done having babies?  I’m interested to know your thoughts!  Share in the comments below.

Looking for some storage and organization inspiration?  Follow my Smart Storage and Organization board on Pinterest.

One thought on “31 Days to a Clutter Free Life: Day 7

Leave a Reply

