31 Days to a Clutter Free Life: Day 5

31 Days to a Clutter Free LifeToday’s focus in the 31 Days to a Clutter Free Life challenge is books.  We are a family of book lovers and we have books in almost every room of the house.  I talked to my husband, and he and I agreed that books are part of who we are.  We looked through the books we own and aside from a few textbooks I can sell on Amazon, we didn’t find any we wanted to part with.

I am totally fine with that though.  I don’t feel overwhelmed or stressed by the books in my house.  Just the opposite, in fact – I love looking at our shelves full of books.  We don’t buy books just for the sake of buying books.  Every book we own is one that we intentionally wanted to own.

We are big time library users too.  We do not just buy a book simply because we want to read it or to fill a shelf.  We buy books that we know we will enjoy, books by authors we like, or on topics we are passionate about.

Our kids have tons of books too, some of them we bought and some of them were gifts.  We looked through those as well and didn’t feel the need to get rid of any just yet.  We will as the kids outgrow the books currently on their shelves, but not just yet.

So today, I’m just going to share a few ways that we organize books so that they do not clutter up our home.

Here are some decorative shelves in our living room.  I know some folks will look at this and have a near panic attack because, for them, it feels cluttered.  I am not one of those folks.  I love having all of these books in the living room.  If you also enjoy books and feel sad at the thought of getting rid of yours, my tip for you is to try to incorporate your books into your décor.

 

Books

BooksBooks

Many people would use decorative accessories to fill these shelves.  Think of your books as functional decorative accessories.  Try arranging your books in interesting ways and adding in little elements of décor here and there to break it up a bit.

For kids’ books, we have three bookcases.  The one in our family room is a regular old bookcase as seen here.

Books

In the kids’ rooms, however, we use bookcases that allow the books to be displayed facing forward.  I read somewhere while I was pregnant with Little Miss S that kids are much more likely to go and pick a book to read on their own if the covers are facing out where they can see them.  So I had my wonderful hubby build this set of shelves for the nursery.  Now it is Little Miss K’s room and the shelves continue to be filled with books.

Books

Here is a simple book sling that I purchased at Target for Little Miss S’s current room.  It isn’t as nice as the built in one in K’s room, but it serves the purpose for now while she is little.

Books

How do you feel about having books around the house?  Clutter or necessity?  Do you organize them a certain way – alphabetical, grouping by similar topics, grouping by author, perhaps?  Share in the comments below!

Are you ready to declutter your home?  Join me while I follow along with the Living Well Spending Less 31 Days to a Clutter Free Life!

Looking for some storage and organization inspiration?  Follow my Smart Storage and Organization board on Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

