31 Days to a Clutter Free Life: Day 4

31 Days to a Clutter Free LifeDay 4 of the 31 Days to a Clutter Free Life challenge tackles the living room.  My biggest frustration with our living room is the TV stand, so I focused there.

We also have a couple of blankets and a pile of pillows that stay in our living room that I try to keep put away neatly, but they often look like this.

Living Room - Before

Living Room - Before

This is better though.

Living Room - After

Living Room - After

The pillows stay on the floor because I really dislike them.  They are from an old couch that we got rid of a few years ago, but our new couch that we bought from a friend did not come with any pillows so I kept them to use on the floor.  I actually have some material to make some new pillows, but I haven’t gotten around to it quite yet.  Once I do, those new pillows will live on the couch, not the floor.

So on to the TV stand.  The two cabinets on either side can get rather cluttered pretty quickly because the kids get stuff out and don’t put it away the same way I would (they are only 1 and 3, so the fact that they put things away by themselves is awesome!).

Living Room - Before

Here is the first side.  The DVDs are just a jumbled mess, so I straightened them up and got rid of a few we don’t like (they were hand-me-down baby videos).

Living Room - Before

Living Room - After

The other side houses a bunch of video games and related accessories.  I had already organized this side a few months ago, so I just straightened it back up.

Living Room - After

I got these green baskets 2 for $1 at Dollar Tree.

Living Room - After

These nifty little cord wraps were something my husband acquired somehow (he doesn’t remember how or where), but they are so nice for organizing cords.  The really nice thing is that they can loop around the cord so that when you unwrap the cord, it stays right on it and doesn’t get lost.  You can also use twist ties for organizing cords in a similar way, but the fact that these can attach to the cords is really nice!

Living Room - After

Living Room - After

 

Living Room - After

I also got busy neatening up the cords on the side.  Tangled, messy looking cords drive me nuts.  I don’t know why I didn’t do this sooner.

Living Room - Before

Living Room - After

I finished the room off by picking things up and putting them back where they belong, like those bottle of nail polish on the shelf there, toys, slippers, remotes, and books.

Living Room - Before

My husband and I spend a lot of time in this room once the kids are in bed, either reading or watching television.  It is much nicer and more relaxing when the clutter is taken care of.

My main tips for keeping the living room clutter under control is to get cords organized and out of sight, keep dishes out, have a designated place for remotes (like a small basket or tray), have a system for organizing media, and have a designated place for blankets and pillows.  A shelf for blankets works for us, but maybe for you a large floor basket or a blanket rack would be better.  The same goes for pillows.  I don’t really love how our pillows get organized, but for me, this solution is better than having pillows I dislike on the couch where they are visible.

How do you organize your living room?  How about your TV stand/media center?  Share your tips in the comments below!

To join in on the challenge, head on over to Living Well Spending Less.  It’s not too late to cut the clutter from you home and your life!

Looking for some storage and organization inspiration?  Follow my Smart Storage and Organization board on Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

