Costco Haul for September ’14

Monthly Costco Haul - July 2014As you may have noticed, my monthly Costco trip has shifted a few weeks.  I did go last month, even though I didn’t share with you what my haul contained.  But I only bought bread and grapes, and since I’ve shown you those items in the past, I decided skip writing about it.

This month I had a much bigger haul.  I restocked up on some organic chicken and beef, cheese, canned diced organic tomatoes, and frozen organic broccoli.  I had a few other items in my cart as well.  Here is the haul for September.

The chicken and beef did not make it to the photo because I put them in the refrigerator as soon as I walked in the door and I forgot about them when I took the picture.  These items come in vacuum sealed packages that are sealed off in three sections of equal portion, so you don’t get just one big wad of meat.  It’s nice that they come that way because if you want, you can just toss the whole thing in the freezer and only take out a third at a time.

Organic Chicken Thighs (4.33 lb.) – $18.78

Organic Chicken Breasts (3.75 lb.) – $22.46

Since thighs are slightly cheaper than breasts, I get both and I go ahead and open up the three portions for each (so I have three portions of breasts and three portions of thighs) and I split them all equally.  Each portion of breasts usually has 2 breasts and each portion of thighs usually has 4 thighs.  Then I combine them in freezer bags, each containing 1 breast and 2 thighs, for a total of 6 freezer bags of chicken to use in casseroles, sandwiches, tacos, wraps, or whatever.

Organic Ground Beef (5 lb. package) – $19.99

This is some pretty lean ground beef.  When I brown it in a pan, barely any grease comes off.  Like the chicken, it comes in three vacuum sealed sections.  Each one is 1.33 pounds, so I split them into six portions of about 2/3 of a pound and I freeze them.

Frozen Organic Broccoli (4 lb. package) – $5.99

Whole Wheat Bread (2 – 16 oz. loaves) – $3.99

If you are wondering why I don’t buy Costco’s organic whole wheat bread, I explain that here.

Colby Jack Cheese (2 lb. block) – $5.79

We got through a lot of cheese and I would LOVE to only buy organic.  Unfortunately, organic cheese is super expensive.

Blueberries (16 oz.) – $6.99

I would not normally buy non-organic blueberries because they are consistently on EWG’s dirty dozen list.  But I had a proud mommy moment when my girls started begging for blueberries but didn’t glance twice at the candy and cookies.  So I gave in to their pleading big blue eyes.

Organic Eggs (2 dozen) – $6.79

Organic Diced Tomatoes (8 – 14.5 oz. cans) – $5.99

I like keeping these on hand to toss in soups, stews, casseroles, and the like.

Organic Strawberry Jam (42 oz.) – $6.99

I usually just buy the regular sized jar of organic jam at the grocery store, but my girls have been asking for strawberry oatmeal (just oatmeal with strawberry jam mixed in) a lot lately.  This is a really good price compared with what I normally pay.

Costco Haul for September '14

2 thoughts on “Costco Haul for September ’14

Leave a Reply

