Why I Am on the Bed-Making Bandwagon {and why you should hop on!}

Why I am on the Bed-Making Bandwagon {and why you should hop on!}   Little Bits of GranolaDo you make your bed every morning?  Have you ever thought about how making your bed in the morning sets the tone for your entire day?

I NEVER made my bed (except when I was putting clean bedding back on it) until I had kids.  It just never really mattered to me.  In fact, I would tell myself that I was just too busy to be bothered with such an insignificant task.  I mean, no one sees my bedroom but my husband and me.  So who cares, right?

Right around the time that Little Miss S turned 2, my husband mentioned that maybe we should start making our bed to set a good example for her.  I was a bit surprised, to be frank.  He isn’t normally the type to care about things like a made bed.  He explained that we will want her to make her bed one day, so we should do the same.

Ok, I get it.  We don’t want our kids to be slobs.  So we should stop being slobs.  Makes sense.

Then I started coming across what other people have to say about making your bed every morning.

First I read this post, Why I Make My Bed {10 Reasons I Keep My House Clean}, by Living Well Spending Less.  Ruth makes a strong case for working to keep up with home-keeping.  A big part of that is making her bed every morning.  My favorites are numbers 7 and 9.  Which are yours?

Next was the speech that Naval Admiral McRaven gave at the University of Texas at Austin’s 2014 Commencement.  McRaven gives his 10 lessons that he learned in basic SEAL training and the first lesson is “If you want to change the world, start off by making your bed”.  His reasons?

If you make your bed every morning you will have accomplished the first task of the day.  It will give you a small sense of pride and it will encourage you to do another task and another and another.

By the end of the day, that one task completed will have turned into many tasks completed. Making your bed will also reinforce the fact that little things in life matter.

If you can’t do the little things right, you will never do the big things right.

And, if by chance you have a miserable day, you will come home to a bed that is made—that you made—and a made bed gives you encouragement that tomorrow will be better.

I recommend watching the video.  It is a great speech.

 

Then I saw this post by A Bowl Full of Lemons.  In her article for Better Homes and Gardens, Keep the Messes Away in Just 5 Minutes a Day, Toni Hammersley suggests starting out each day by making your bed.  Her reason is that if your bed is a mess, your room is a mess.  Which goes hand in hand with the next place I saw someone talk about the importance of making your bed every day.

I’ve been reading Simplify Your Life by Marcia Ramsland, and in her book, Marcia gives her Ten Timesaving Habits to Simplify Your Day.  Her number one tip?  You guessed it.  Make your bed.  Marcia says “It takes only two minutes to give you sixteen hours of order.  Besides, a room is 50-70 percent clean when the bed is made.”

Why I am on the Bed-Making Bandwagon {and why you should hop on!}  Little Bits of Granola

The take away?  A silly as it may sound, making your bed every morning can change your life!

If you are feeling overwhelmed with everything you need to keep up with or feeling a little down on yourself, try this.  Make your bed every morning and when those negative thoughts begin to creep in, just think back to your made bed.  Think about the admiral’s words of wisdom.  Think about what Toni, Ruth, and Marcia have shared.

Start each day with this simple task and you’ve accomplished something before you have even brushed your teeth.

You leave your bedroom with your chin a little higher and you’ve set the tone for the rest of your day.  And if you have a terrible day, coming back to a tidy bedroom is far better for your psyche than if you enter a room of chaos and disorder.

And there is just something satisfying about pulling back the covers of a made bed to sink in and relax!

6 thoughts on “Why I Am on the Bed-Making Bandwagon {and why you should hop on!}

  1. Laura, I LOVE this post…I’m going to have both my girls read this. They try to get their beds made in the morning before school but most often if it ends up not made or perhaps the sheets and comforter are pulled up in a haphazard way. Maybe this will help inspire them and start the day off in a positive way.

    1. I’ll admit, I did not make my bed as a teen or young adult! Looking back, though, I wish I had realized the impact it really does have on the rest of your day. I hope your girls are inspired!! 🙂

  2. I make my bed every morning. I let it air until I’ve had my oatmeal and coffee then I make it before hitting the shower. The best part about having a made bed is getting back into it at night. So welcoming! (Saturday mornings I strip the bed and wash the sheets even before I go downstairs for coffee that way I’m not tempted to lollygag.) This was not my habit one year ago but now I’m devoted. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

Leave a Reply

