Monthly Roundup for August: Living Simply

Monthly Roundup for August - Living Simply - by Little Bits of GranolaI follow several blogs (actually, “several” is probably an understatement!) with a wide range of topics.  Cleaning, organizing, decorating, crafting, meal planning, budgeting, simple living, green living, recipes, fitness, parenting…  And I have found that bloggers from all of these different areas of expertise have something to offer when it comes to simplifying your life.  Each month, I happen to come across blog posts that offer great tips or inspiration (often both) and leave me feeling optimistic about my journey to simpler living and greater contentment.

I got way behind on blogging and reading blogs this month.  Between taking a week off, updating our master bedroom, and prepping for school to start, I just started to let things slip.  I had over 900 unread posts in my Bloglovin’ feed this morning.  (I think I may need to simplify by cutting back on the blogs I follow in my feed!)  I did, however, manage to do a little catching up on my reading this weekend and here are some blog posts from August that I found particularly helpful or inspiring.

12 Ways to Adjust to Living on a Budget, by Millennial on a Budget gives some great advice to those who are new to budgeting personal finances.  I wouldn’t say this is a new practice for my family, but our budgeting has become a little tighter in the last couple of years since I quit my well-paying, secure job to start a small consultancy.  Living on a budget may seem like a quick way to complicate your life.  I mean, all that tracking and paying attention to where you spend – certainly that is more complicated than just living day-to-day and making purchases as you wish, right?  Yeah, right up until you have to face the consequences of mindless spending, then life gets REAL complicated.  Check out these 12 tips for adjusting to budgeting.  My faves are numbers 1, 9, and 12.

You’ve probably figured out that I love Living Well Spending Less.  I’ve linked to Ruth Soukup’s blog several times.  I always find her posts helpful and she has such a great writing style that makes her blog so enjoyable.  In August, she offered advice on saying “No.”  I am working on this, and I have been for a couple of years now.  Why is saying no so hard?  It feels bad when we have to say no, but in reality it is often best for all involved.  Learning to say no is essential if you have become overwhelmed with all of your commitments and are looking for a way to simplify.  Ruth gives some great advice in 5 Ways to Say No and recommends reading The Best Yes: Making Wise Decisions in the Midst of Endless Demands, by Lysa Ter Keurst.  I found the first method of politely saying no the most helpful for the situations in which I often find myself.

Last but not least, Clean Mama shared 5 Ways to Keep Everyone’s Clothing Organized.  This is perfect timing because I am a couple of weeks away from a big closet change-out and organizing project.  Very soon, I will be sharing with you the method I developed for decluttering my closet while finding my own personal style.  Becky’s tips are so easy and helpful.  I’ve actually written these down to have with me while I organize.  The best ones for me are numbers 1 and 2.  These work great for people who don’t want to be able to remove items from their closet at a slower pace, rather than do a great big sort and donate session.

Which of these tips did you find most helpful?  Please share by commenting below!

2 thoughts on “Monthly Roundup for August: Living Simply

  1. Thank you so much for the shoutout!! I really appreciate it! (And thanks for the other links – they’re awesome.. especially because I really want to update my master!)

Leave a Reply

