Invigorating Citrus Mint Sugar Scrub

Invigorating Citrus Mint Sugar Scrub - by Little Bits of GranolaOne of the things I do when I’m not blogging is teach Green Construction at the community college.  This week marks the beginning of the fall semester, so the last couple of weeks have been full with prep work and faculty meetings and professional development training. I wanted to start the semester off invigorated.

To get myself psyched up for another new semester, I’ve been decluttering and organizing my home office, getting my binders set up, making plans for easy and healthy weekday lunches for myself and the girls, and I even ordered a new planner (unfortunately it won’t be here until the end of September, but it will be worth the wait!)  I also started the first day off with a wonderful new sugar scrub using two of my favorite aromas: citrus and mint.  This scrub was inspired by the Lemon Mint Sugar Scrub found over at Shaken Together.  How invigorating!  So without further ado, here is my Citrus Mint Sugar Scrub.

Citrus Mint Sugar Scrub

1 ½ cup granulated sugar

Coconut oil

10 drops lemon essential oil

10 drops sweet orange essential oil

10 drops peppermint essential oil

Slowly add the coconut oil to the sugar until you have the consistency you prefer.  I like mine to be sort of like wet sand.  Add the essential oils and mix it all together!  I store mine in a small mason jar.

The recipe by Shaken Together uses much less essential oil.  I started out with around 10 drops total of essential oil, but I felt like I could barely smell it.  So I kept adding until it seemed right.  I am NOT an expert or professional or consultant for essential oils, so use my recipe at your own risk. 

Looking for more scrub ideas?  Follow my Pinterest Board!

Linked up at A Bowl Full of Lemons.

One thought on “Invigorating Citrus Mint Sugar Scrub

Leave a Reply

