Master Bedroom Makeover Reveal!

Master Bedroom Makeover Reveal - by Little Bits of GranolaIs it Monday already?  Not only Monday, but Monday NIGHT!!  I swear weekends just fly by.  My Little Miss K turned 1 last week and her birthday party was Saturday, which made the weekend go by that much faster.  We did, however, find time to finish up our master bedroom makeover!  I am so excited about this, and when you see the before pictures you’ll understand why.

As I mentioned last week, when we moved in to our house every room was painted some bright shade of blue or purple – and it wasn’t done well at all.  The painting was very sloppy.  That, along with many other poorly done DIY jobs, made every room just feel messy.  My husband and I had been putting off making over our bedroom until we were finished with the rest of the house.  Eight years later and we STILL hadn’t touched our room (and no, the rest of the house isn’t finished yet either!).  Funny how time gets away from you.

So while our kiddos were visiting their grandparents for a week, we decided to finally tackle the master bedroom.  That was the perfect time because we used their bedrooms for staging and storing all of our junk from our bedroom.  And because 1 year olds and 3 year olds are not great at helping to paint and decorate.

You can see in the before photos that my husband began making some drywall repairs before I had a chance to take the photos.  The house came with an intercom system.  Unfortunately, it wasn’t a cool retro one.  It was a terrible plastic one with painted gold trim, splashed with bright hues of blue and to top it off the thing didn’t work.  So it had to go and the holes where the speakers were had to be patched.  Our room had two.  Also, he did some mudding around the windows where we had some trim work done when our windows were replaced a few years ago.

Our bedroom started out a bright purplish-periwinkle.  The color itself is actually very pretty.  Just not my style for a master bedroom.  The funny thing is that when we moved into our house, I wanted the walls to be bright and bold.  I grew up in houses with white walls, and most of them were rentals so my parents did not/could not paint them.  I always knew that when I grew up I’d live in a house full of color.  When I began decorating our 1960’s fixer-upper 8 years ago, I started with painting several rooms bright beautiful colors.  I guess I’ve mellowed out a bit since then, or I’ve found the beauty in neutrals (or I’ve realized how permanent and limiting bright colors on the walls can be.  Maybe someday I’ll show you my bright turquoise living room).

A sneak peek at my master bedroom makeover - here is one of the before pics (see the bluish purple walls They're GONE!) - by Little Bits of Granola
Here is the sneak peek BEFORE photo I posted last week.

So for the walls, I chose a rich mocha-y color.  It is Olympic’s zero VOC in Stonybrook (found at Lowe’s).  What I love is that if I ever want to change the look of the room, I can easily do so just by changing accessories.  I can’t do that as easily with my turquoise living room.

Master Bedroom Makeover Reveal - by Little Bits of Granola

All of our furniture pieces are hand-me-downs.  We decided to move the large armoire to another room and replace it with a smaller dresser.  I got this dresser from my mom – she purchased it for $3 at a garage sale 25 years ago and was planning on putting it on the curb (or having my husband haul it to a thrift store) because she no longer needed it and the bottom drawer needed to be repaired.  It did have all of its knobs.  I just forgot to take a before picture prior to removing most of them.  So I took it and gave it a facelift along with our bedroom.  Just a coat of paint and new drawer pulls from Target.

Master Bedroom Makeover Reveal Dresser Before and After - by Little Bits of Granola

Aside from that, no other changes were made to the furniture.  That little vanity chair almost got donated, but I decided to hang on to it.  I am thinking about trying my hand at reupholstering it.  If it doesn’t work out, no harm done.  I want to eventually paint the other pieces of furniture too because they are all particleboard and the faux wood grain finish is damaged.  That didn’t happen with this project though – that’s for another day.

I really wanted to rearrange the furniture, but it just wasn’t possible.  The north wall (with the two windows) has baseboard radiators the full length, so putting any furniture on that wall is a bad idea.  Doing so restricts the airflow of the heat coming off the radiators and decreases their heating efficiency.  The east and south walls both have too many doors on them so there is no room for a bed.  The bed had to stay on the south wall.  Aside from that, there are only two other spots where dressers could go, so our dressers ended up right back where they had been.  So no furniture rearranging for this room.

For the windows, we bought these faux wood plantation blinds from Lowe’s to replace the cheapo mini-blinds and my husband, Shannon, built these simple cornices using 1x paint-ready lumber and trim pieces.  He also built that awesome shelving unit that I absolutely love hanging between the two windows.  He’s pretty darn handy.  Here’s the sneak peek I posted showing the shelving unit a bit closer.

Speaking of the windows, the one on the south wall behind the bed is off-center from the wall.  This drove me crazy before.  I like for things to be in alignment and I have been trying to figure out what to do with the off-center window for years.  Finally it came to me.  I had Shannon make that cornice a bit wider than it should be and hang it centered over our bed (which means it is NOT centered over the window).  Then I used a tension rod and hung a curtain on the right side covering the wall to give the appearance of a wider window.  I think it worked pretty well!  I might still add another curtain panel to fill it out some.

Master Bedroom Reveal Before - by Little Bits of Granola

Master Bedroom Makeover Reveal 1 - by Little Bits of Granola

Aside from that, the changes are minor.  We replaced the standard plastic outlet covers and switch plates with nicer looking ones.  I switched the lamp out for a lamp from another room.  I have since decided the light from this lamp isn’t as nice for reading, so I think I’m going to try painting that other lamp and putting it back on my nightstand.  The bird artwork over the cream dresser is a cheap piece of canvas art from Meijer.  Birds are a running theme in our house.  Almost every room has at least one bird.  I’ve still got my eye out for other wall art because I don’t really care for the blank walls around the bed.

Master Bedroom Reveal Before 1 - by Little Bits of Granola

Master Bedroom Makeover Reveal 3 - by Little Bits of Granola

I had originally planned to do away with the hook strip over by my closet that my purses hang on, but I actually like it there.  I don’t care that it isn’t exactly “magazine spread pretty”.  Having my purses hung where I can see them works for me.  I did, however, take the hook rack that had robes and hoodies hanging from it down from the back of the bathroom door (this didn’t make it into any photos, apparently).  I actually have lots of room in my closet now (I’ll post about that soon too!) and the hoodies are now in there.  I left a single hook for the robe I actually wear.  The other robes are being donated.  It looks much cleaner without all the clutter on the back of that door.  I know it’d look nicer without the single robe too, but again, keeping it there is what works for me.

Master Bedroom Reveal Before 2 - by Little Bits of Granola

Master Bedroom Makeover Reveal 2 - by Little Bits of Granola

Finally, the bedding.  This duvet cover and pillow sham set is from Pottery Barn’s organic cotton line that they used to have.  I purchased it 5 years ago (back when we both worked traditional full-time jobs and had more “spending money”) and I’ve had it packed up this whole time because I didn’t want it on the bed until the room was painted.  I just wanted it all to part of a big room makeover I guess.  While I love the colors and the butterflies, it is a bit much for me with the pillow shams.  I have my eye out for some vintage lace pillow shams to replace the butterfly ones.  Maybe I’ll make pillowcase dresses for the girls out of the butterfly shams.  The throw pillows and the knit blanket are from Meijer.

That’s pretty much it!  I think the paint and the window treatments made a huge difference.  The room just feels neater and pulled together now.  I wish we hadn’t put this off for so long because having a bedroom that you love to be in really improves your mindset at the beginning and end of the day.  Every evening when I enter this room, I look around and feel good.  The room feels clean and in order.  I feel relaxed and before it was a reminder of one more thing that we had on our to-do list.  Not a great feeling when you are trying to wind down at the end of the day.

Are you ready for some room upgrades but don’t have the time or budget for a full-fledged room makeover?  Try these 5 Easy and Budget-Friendly Ways to Give a Room a Facelift!

Linked up at A Bowl Full of Lemons and Savvy Southern Style.

8 thoughts on “Master Bedroom Makeover Reveal!

Leave a Reply

