Monthly Roundup for July: Living Simply

Monthly Round-up For July Living Simply -- My favorite tips and inspiration from around the web for bringing simplicity to my life -  by Little Bits of GranolaA month ago, I shared with you a bit about why and how I am working toward simplifying my life. I have been treading water ever since I entered the professional world after finishing my undergrad, and for years it was great.  But for the past year or so I’ve had this underlying anxiety.  A feeling that I’m going to drop the ball.  A feeling that something’s just not right.  So I’m working on making changes.  I want to share more of that with you this month and I’m going to start by sharing my favorite posts from last month.

Why IHeart Organizing and Thoughts on Perfection

This post at IHeart Organizating came at the exact right time, on a day when I was feeling quite inadequate.  It is funny how things line up the way they are supposed to.  How, sometimes, the exact right message comes to you at the exact right time.  Part of my journey to a more simplified life has been the realization that maybe not everything I was doing and working for was “authentically me”.  What I mean is, I was doing a lot of things because I felt like I should be doing them, not because my heart was really in it.  Maybe I’ll share more about that part of my journey another day, but for now I wanted to share with you this post that encourages each of us to write our own definition of “perfect”.  Your version of perfect will be different from mine and mine will be different from Jen’s.  And that’s ok.  It’s more than ok – that is a GOOD thing.  We are all different people and we all have different values, passions, motivators, and comforts.  Diversity makes the world more interesting and beautiful, so embrace YOUR version of perfect.

4 Ways to Clear Your Mind When You Don’t Have Time

This next post from I’m an Organizing Junkie describes four different ways to clear your mind when you just don’t feel like you have the time to do so.  What really stuck with me about Emily’s tips was her description of how she actually meditates while doing regular daily tasks.  I had been thinking that maybe beginning to meditate regularly would help me slow down, feel more connected to my life, calm the swirl of thoughts going through my mind at all times; but I don’t really know HOW to meditate.  If I try to just sit still and clear my mind, my mind does not cooperate.  It wanders, thinking about all of the things that I need and want to get done. But Emily’s guide to fitting meditation in, even for just a few minutes, makes it actually seem like something I can do.  Her other tips are fabulous as well and I hope they help you too.

Inspirational Images and Quotes for Your Simplicity Journey

This last blog post from Be More With Less also came to me at the right time.  The funny thing is that I didn’t actually read through the entire thing until a couple of weeks after it was published.  I was catching up on some of my favorite blogs and this quote (pictured below) hit me hard.  You see, I had just been asked to chair a committee for a volunteer organization I am involved with and I was really struggling with my response because I knew in my heart that my answer should be no but I felt terribly guilty about it.  Then I saw this and knew that saying no was the right thing to do.  I did and afterward I felt great.  And you know what?  No one hated me for it.  The organization is still as strong as ever and the people still appreciate my time and efforts as much as they ever did.  Nothing bad happened from me saying no.  Lesson learned.

What I’ve learned in the past month is that you have to decide for yourself what a simplified life looks like.  For me, this month, that has meant figuring out what my perfect life looks like, how meditating works for me, and what commitments are good for me.

What inspired you in July?  Did these posts I’ve shared help you at all?  Please share by commenting below!

Leave a Reply

