T-Shirt Turned Sundress

T-shirt Turned Sundress rev As you may remember, I love finding creative ways to use old T-shirts.  I have a handful of old t-shirts I wore in college that I’ve been trying to find projects for.  These are not regular t-shirts; they are those ridiculously small “baby tees” that I am embarrassed to even admit to wearing.  I swear, these shirts played a not-so-small role in the body image issues I (and many women) have to this day.  The shirt I used was a size large.  I wish I had taken a before picture so you could see just how small this shirt was…  But I didn’t (I know – bad blogger.  I’m still learning.)  Just imagine a t-shirt small enough that when worn by my two-year-old, the bottom hem did not touch the ground and the sleeves hit right at the elbow.  Adult – not child – size large.  But I digress.

I’ve had this toddler dress project pinned for a long time and I finally got around to actually making it.  I’m not going to go through the steps of how to make it because you can see all that over at Pretty Prudent.  Jaime’s instructions are very easy to follow!!

Here is her before and after to give you a better idea of what you are working toward with this project.

I just wanted to share with you the end product.  It is a bit big on Little Miss S. (she is in 3T clothing, just to give you size reference), but she’ll be able to wear it next summer for sure.

A couple of notes:

I do not have a surger and my sewing machine doesn’t even do a zigzag stitch, and I had no trouble with this project.

I used a ½” bias tape because I thought it would be easier to sew.  It was easier, but I think the dress is cuter with ¼” bias tape.

How cool is my kiddo wearing a Beatles dress???  Yeah, she pretty much rocks.

Here is a view of the back.

Turn an old T-shirt into a Child's Sundress

And a look at the dress on a hanger.

T-shirt turned Toddler Sundress  - by Little Bits of Granola

Linked up at Living Well Spending LessSavvy Southern StyleA Bowl Full of LemonsDaisy Cottage Designs, Six Sisters Stuff, and Skip to My Lou.

3 thoughts on “T-Shirt Turned Sundress

  1. Oh my goodness how adorable! I am a miserable failure when it comes to sewing, but this makes me want to learn. What a great idea for re-purposing old clothes. LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

